Services offered by
State of Arizona

Find services provided by the State agencies for all its residents

Frequently asked questions from City of Avondale

Does Avondale Water bill have a grace period?

Featured in Pay Water Bill, City of Avondale

Yes, Avondale water monthly bill has a 14-day grace period. During the 14-day grace period for one month’s bill there will not be interruption in service. 

What happens in the case of non-payment of Avondale water bill?

Featured in Pay Water Bill, City of Avondale

If payment is not received by the due date on your bill, the entire amount shall become past due and a Final Notice will be issued.  If you receive a Final Notice, all past due amounts must be received by the Final Notice date or water service is subject to turn-off.  

If your water is turned-off for non-payment, you will be required to pay your bill in full plus a turn-on charge of $60 and up to a $250 deposit with guaranteed funds before your water can be restored.  A dishonored payment/returned check will result in an additional $25 fee and all future payments must be made with guaranteed funds. 

How to read my water meter in Avondale, AZ?

Featured in Pay Water Bill, City of Avondale

Water meters in Avondale are usually located in the front yard. Remove the meter box lid with a screwdriver. Lift the meter face cover. You should see a dial similar to an automobile odometer. The numbers on that dial represent the read. Consumption is read by 1,000's of gallons.  

How long are dog licenses valid in Maricopa County?

Featured in Renew Dog License, County of Maricopa

The term of license in Maricopa County is based on the month and day of the most current rabies vaccination on record and is valid for no more than one calendar year.

Which pets need a license in Maricopa County?

Featured in Renew Dog License, County of Maricopa

In Maricopa County, all dogs over the age of three months are required by law to be licensed and vaccinated against rabies. Application for license must be made within 15 days of vaccination.

When are Property taxes due?

Featured in Pay Property Taxes, County of Maricopa

Annual property tax statements for Maricopa County, Arizona are issued on a calendar year basis and are printed and mailed in September of that year. The September statement has two payment stubs thereby avoiding the waste of taxpayers money on a second billing.

Your property tax may be paid in full or in two installments:

  • The due date for the first half tax is October 1. The first half installment becomes delinquent after 5:00 p.m. on November 1 for Tax Bills over $100.
  • After 5:00 p.m. on December 31, full year tax bills become delinquent. All tax bills under $100 must be paid prior to that time.
  • The second half tax is due March 1 of the following year and becomes delinquent after 5:00 p.m. on May 1. 
  • You may pay both halves together until December 31.   If you miss a deadline you may owe fees plus interest charges of 16% per year prorated monthly.

Please not that if any of the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the time of the delinquency is 5:00 pm on the next business day after that date.

What are Weekly Unemployment Insurance Claims?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Insurance, State of Arizona

The weekly claim filing process (also referred to as weekly certification) is used to verify that you were unemployed during the week and are eligible to receive benefit payments (provided that you qualify monetarily and are determined eligible to receive benefits).

Weekly claims are filed by individuals who have applied for Unemployment Insurance (UI) Benefits and/or have an existing Arizona Unemployment Insurance Claim with a monetary balance (meaning, you still have money remaining in your total benefit entitlement).

What information or documents do I need to apply for Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefits in the State of Arizona?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Insurance, State of Arizona

The following information is needed to file an application (initial claim) for benefits in Arizona:

  • Your Social Security Number
  • Arizona Driver's License or Arizona State Issued ID (Note: you may still complete your application without these two items)
  • Your mailing address, city, state and ZIP code
  • If you live in Arizona, know the county where you reside
  • The names, addresses, and phone numbers of all your employers for the last 18 months
  • The last day you worked immediately prior to filing your UI claim
  • If you received severance, vacation, holiday or payment for unused sick pay: give the amount (before deductions) and the date it was paid to you
  • The name and local number of your union hall, if applicable
  • Alien Registration Number, if applicable
  • Copy # 4 of your DD Form 214 if released from the military in the last 18 months
  • SF 8 or SF 50 if employed in Federal Civilian service in the last 18 months
  • If you are collecting a pension (other than Social Security), you will need the start date of the pension and the monthly benefit amount

When you apply for UI benefits, you must provide the correct mailing address and telephone number for your most recent employer (the individual or company you worked for immediately prior to filing your application for benefits).

When can I apply for Unemployment Insurance in Arizona?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Insurance, State of Arizona

Unemployment Insurance (UI) Benefits are not retroactive: therefore, you should apply for UI Benefits as soon as possible after the last day of work. If you are still currently working, you will need to wait until after your last day of work to complete your application for UI benefits.

What happens if I forget to file my weekly claims?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Insurance, State of Arizona

All weeks must be filed (certified) in order, without a break. If you miss a week, you will be able to file for the current week and the prior week (the one you missed filing for) only. If you miss filing your weekly claims for more than two weeks, the weekly claim filing system will no longer recognize you. 

Failing to file a weekly claim can result in a delay in having your benefits approved and/or in receiving your weekly benefit payments. If you receive a message indicating that there is no record of your Social Security Number, the system is missing two or more of your most recent weekly claims (meaning that the two previous consecutive benefit weeks were not submitted for processing/payment in a timely manner).

What are the symptoms of COVID-19?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Arizona

The most common symptoms of COVID-19 are fever, tiredness, and dry cough. Some patients may have aches and pains, nasal congestion, runny nose, sore throat or diarrhea. These symptoms are usually mild and begin gradually. Some people become infected but don’t develop any symptoms and don't feel unwell.

Most people (about 80%) recover from the disease without needing special treatment. Around 1 out of every 6 people who get COVID-19 becomes seriously ill and develops difficulty breathing. Older people, and those with underlying medical problems like high blood pressure, heart problems or diabetes, are more likely to develop serious illness.

People with fever, cough and difficulty breathing should seek medical attention.

Where can I find more information about all the cases in the US?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Arizona

You can find a detailed map with the spread of the cases here:

What should I do if I am sick?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Arizona

If you think you have been exposed to COVID-19 and develop a fever and symptoms, such as cough or difficulty breathing, call your healthcare provider for medical advice.

You can read more about what the CDC recommends here:

Where can I find the information on the local health authorities in Arizona?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Arizona

The following are the contact numbers for the local county health authorities:

Has anyone in Arizona been diagnosed with COVID-19?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Arizona

Yes. The first case was diagnosed on January 26, 2020. As the situation is rapidly evolving, you can the latest case numbers here.