As a courtesy, tax bills are mailed in the middle of July to the last known owner of real estate or to the last known address that we have on file for the taxpayer. The county tax year runs from July 1st to June 30th. You are assessed on what real estate is deeded in your name and what vehicles you have titled in your name on July 1 of the previous year. For example: the 2018 taxes that were mailed in July of 2018 are based on what the taxpayer had deeded or titled in his/her name on July 1st of 2017.
I did not get my second half tax bill. When is it due?
We do not send out second half notices of taxes due. The tax bill you receive one time in July has both payments outlined on it. - The bottom portion of your tax bill outlines the first half or full year payment amount that is due in the month you choose to pay it. If you only pay your first half, the middle section outlines your second half payment with the starting due date of March 1st. - Taxes are considered delinquent April 1st, and if any taxes are still owed as of May 1st, then by law the tax amount and your name will be published with fees added.
We now are able to accept credit cards (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover). Please be aware that there is a convenience fee of 2.00 or 2.9%, whichever is greater added to your balance due and paid directly to the payment processing company.
Your weekly benefit amount is based on the total covered wages you were paid during your base period. You must have been paid wages of at least $2,200 in covered employment during your base period and must have been paid wages in at least two quarters of your base period to be monetarily eligible to receive unemployment compensation benefits in the State of West Virginia.
The regular base period consists of the first four of the last five completed calendar quarters before the starting date of your new claim. If you are not monetarily eligible during the regular base period, we would then explore the alternate base period to assist you in possibly becoming monetarily eligible.
What type of unemployment claim could I be eligible for in West Virginia?
Regular/total unemployment—you are totally unemployed when you are completely separated from employment, earning no wages and performing no services.
Low earnings/partial unemployment—you are partially unemployed if you were hired as a full-time employee but your regular hours and earnings are reduced due to lack of work. You are on the employer’s payroll, but that employer cannot give you full-time work. Your employer may issue you a Low Earnings Report while your work hours are reduced.
What documents do I need to file my claim in the State of West Virginia?
Although your initial application was made by phone or internet, to protect your identity, you may be asked to provide your Social Security card and a photo ID (such as a valid driver’s license) for verification purposes. Make sure you have these items available and can provide them upon request. If you are not a citizen of the United States, you will be asked to supply government issued documentation showing your work status. Your document must include an identification number, the name of the agency that issued the document, and an expiration date.
You will be asked to complete an Initial Unemployment Compensation Application, wherein you will provide the business names and complete mailing addresses for all employers for whom you worked during the last 18 months, along with the dates of employment and reason for separation from each employer.
If you were separated from the following entities, you will be asked to provide the following forms:
Military: DD-214 form, the number four (4) copy
Federal government: SF-8 form (separation notice)
Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA): SF-8 form and SF-50 form.
Where can I find the official number of cases reported in West Virginia?
The most common symptoms of COVID-19 are fever, tiredness, and dry cough. Some patients may have aches and pains, nasal congestion, runny nose, sore throat or diarrhea. These symptoms are usually mild and begin gradually. Some people become infected but don’t develop any symptoms and don't feel unwell.
Most people (about 80%) recover from the disease without needing special treatment. Around 1 out of every 6 people who get COVID-19 becomes seriously ill and develops difficulty breathing. Older people, and those with underlying medical problems like high blood pressure, heart problems or diabetes, are more likely to develop serious illness.
People with fever, cough and difficulty breathing should seek medical attention.
Where can I find more information about all the cases in the US?
The West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Bureau for Medical Services (BMS), is the designated single state agency responsible for the administration of the State's Medicaid program. BMS provides access to appropriate health care for Medicaid-eligible individuals.