Pay Motor Vehicle Excise Tax

Pay Motor Vehicle Excise Tax

Using this service, you can find your invoice using your License Plate Number and Last name & pay for your motor vehicle excise tax online. 

FAQs

Are there any exceptions for Motor Vehicle Excise Tax in Boston?

Massachusetts State law allows motor vehicle excise tax exemptions for vehicles owned by certain disabled people and veterans, former prisoners of war and their surviving spouses, and charitable organizations. To find out if you qualify, call the Taxpayer Referral and Assistance Center at 617-635-4287.

How is the excise amount determined?

The state’s Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) sends information to the City of Boston every year, which is used to calculate the amount of the excise bill. By law, the RMV determines the value of each motor vehicle and trailer using the list price and age of the vehicle and trailer.

Is the excise tax of my car related to it's value?

You are taxed at a rate of $25 per thousand dollars of your car’s value. If you registered your car after January 31, you are taxed from the month that you registered your car until the end of the calendar year. For example, if you register your car on April 20, you will be taxed for nine months of the year, from April 1 until December 31.

Pay Motor Vehicle Excise Tax

Pay Motor Vehicle Excise Tax

Using this service, you can find your invoice using your License Plate Number and Last name & pay for your motor vehicle excise tax online. 

FAQs

Are there any exceptions for Motor Vehicle Excise Tax in Boston?

Massachusetts State law allows motor vehicle excise tax exemptions for vehicles owned by certain disabled people and veterans, former prisoners of war and their surviving spouses, and charitable organizations. To find out if you qualify, call the Taxpayer Referral and Assistance Center at 617-635-4287.

How is the excise amount determined?

The state’s Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) sends information to the City of Boston every year, which is used to calculate the amount of the excise bill. By law, the RMV determines the value of each motor vehicle and trailer using the list price and age of the vehicle and trailer.

Is the excise tax of my car related to it's value?

You are taxed at a rate of $25 per thousand dollars of your car’s value. If you registered your car after January 31, you are taxed from the month that you registered your car until the end of the calendar year. For example, if you register your car on April 20, you will be taxed for nine months of the year, from April 1 until December 31.