Services offered by
State of Rhode Island

Frequently asked questions from State of Rhode Island

Who can register to vote?

Featured in Register to Vote, State of Rhode Island

To register to vote, you must be: 

  • a U.S. Citizen and resident of Rhode Island.
  • at least 16 years of age (you must be at least 18 years of age to vote).
  • not incarcerated in a correctional facility upon a felony conviction.
  • not presently judged "mentally incompetent" to vote by a court of law.

When and how can I apply for unemployment insurance (UI) benefits in Rhode Island?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Insurance, State of Rhode Island

You should file an unemployment claim within 7 days of your last day of employment to avoid jeopardizing or delaying your first payment.

There are 2 ways to file a claim in the State of Rhode Island:  

1) File a Claim Online using the FILE NOW button above.
2) File a Claim on the phone by calling (401) 243-9100. If you're calling from out of state, the phone number is 1-866-557-0001.

Monday is generally the busiest phone day of the week; if you call later in the week, your wait time may not be so long.

What information will I need to file a UI claim in Rhode Island?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Insurance, State of Rhode Island

You will need to provide your social security number and the full name, address and telephone number of all employers you have worked for in the last two years.

If you are not a United States citizen, you must provide your alien registration number. 

What are the eligibility requirements to be able to receive Unemployment Insurance Claims in Rhode Island?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Insurance, State of Rhode Island

You must meet certain wage requirements. If you are laid off, the Rhode Island Department of Labor & Training strongly urges you to apply for benefits. They will determine whether you qualify based on all the facts relating to your claim and notify you as quickly as possible.

You must have been paid at least $12,600 in either your base period or an alternate base period. If you did not earn this amount, you may be eligible if you meet all of the following conditions: 

  • You were paid at least $2,100 in one of your base period quarters, and
  • You were paid total base period taxable wages of at least one and one-half times your highest single quarter earnings, and 
  • You were paid total base period taxable wages of at least $4,200. Also, if you have had a previous claim, you must have worked again since filing that claim and must have been paid taxable wages of at least eighty times the R.I. minimum hourly wage of $10.50, or $840.

You must be unemployed through no fault of your own. You must be able to work, available for work and searching for full-time work. You must always be willing to accept a suitable job while you are claiming benefits.

What are the symptoms of COVID-19?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Rhode Island

The most common symptoms of COVID-19 are fever, tiredness, and dry cough. Some patients may have aches and pains, nasal congestion, runny nose, sore throat or diarrhea. These symptoms are usually mild and begin gradually. Some people become infected but don’t develop any symptoms and don't feel unwell.

Most people (about 80%) recover from the disease without needing special treatment. Around 1 out of every 6 people who get COVID-19 becomes seriously ill and develops difficulty breathing. Older people, and those with underlying medical problems like high blood pressure, heart problems or diabetes, are more likely to develop serious illness.

People with fever, cough and difficulty breathing should seek medical attention.

Where can I find more information about all the cases in the US?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Rhode Island

You can find a detailed map with the spread of the cases here: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/cases-in-us.html

What should I do if I am sick?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Rhode Island

If you think you have been exposed to COVID-19 and develop a fever and symptoms, such as cough or difficulty breathing, call your healthcare provider for medical advice.

You can read more about what the CDC recommends here: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/about/steps-when-sick.html

Where can I find the information on the cases recorded in Rhode Island?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Rhode Island

You can track and monitor COVID-19 disease within the state of Rhode Island here

ADAD
Popular cities from The State of Rhode Island

papergov

Papergov is the leading place to discover & act on all local government services.

papergov

Papergov is the leading place to discover & act on all local government services.

© 2020, Openly Technologies, Inc.