Frequently asked questions from County of Benton

What is a property tax deferral?

Featured in Pay Property Taxes, County of Benton

The Oregon Legislature set up programs that allow qualifying property owners to delay paying property taxes on their residence, including manufactured homes, houseboats, multifamily, and income-producing properties.

If you qualify for one of the deferral programs, the state will pay your property taxes to the county. A lien will be placed on your property. You will be charged lien recording fees, which are deferred. Interest on the deferred taxes, at 6% per year, is also deferred. The taxes must be paid, with interest, when the owner dies or sells the property, moves or changes ownership.

What deferral programs may I apply for?

Featured in Pay Property Taxes, County of Benton

There are two deferral programs, one of which you may qualify for.

  • The disabled citizens' deferral is for Oregon homeowners, under age 62, who are collecting federal Social Security benefits.
  • The senior citizens' deferral is for Oregon homeowners, over the age of 62.

Application rules are:

  • Either husband or wife may apply, or both may apply jointly.
  • Two or more people (other than a married couple) may apply for deferral as joint owners.
  • You may apply for a deferral if you have a veteran's exemption and still have property taxes to pay.
  • You may be living away from the property due to medical reasons. In this case you must send a medical statement to the Oregon Department of Revenue (DOR). It must be on letterhead from your health care provider.

How are my Benton Property taxes calculated?

Featured in Pay Property Taxes, County of Benton

Property taxes are based on a tax rate per $1000 of assessed value. The rate is comprised of several different taxing districts that vary depending on the location of your property. Each district has an individual tax rate and the consolidated tax rate combines the rates for the various taxing districts in that area.

How much is the late penalty for Benton County Property taxes?

Featured in Pay Property Taxes, County of Benton

The penalty is a percentage of the property tax in Benton County and is determined by the lateness of the filing:

  • Returns filed after March 15 and on or before June 1 the penalty is 5% of the taxes owed
  • Returns filed after June 1 and on or before August 1 the penalty is 25% of the taxes owed
  • Returns filed after August 1 the penalty is 50% of the taxes owed
  • Returns not filed will receive a penalty of 50% of the taxes owed

Can I get my fine reduced when paying online?

Featured in Pay for Traffic Citation, State of Oregon

No. By paying online, you are entering a no contest plea and will be responsible for the full amount of the fine.​

How soon will my payment show up on my court case?

Featured in Pay for Traffic Citation, State of Oregon

The case will record receipt of the payment within 24 hours.

How soon after receiving a citation for a violation will I be able to pay it online?

Featured in Pay for Traffic Citation, State of Oregon

It may take as much as 10-15 days for a citation to be available for online payment. Parking citations in Multnomah County (Portland area) take at least 48 hours to be available for online payment.​

Who can register to vote in Oregon?

Featured in Register to Vote, State of Oregon

To register to vote in Oregon, you must be:

  • A U.S. citizen
  • A resident of Oregon
  • At least 16 years old
  • If you are not yet 18 years of age, you will not receive a ballot until an election occurs on or after your 18th birthday.​​

What are the symptoms of COVID-19?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Oregon

The most common symptoms of COVID-19 are fever, tiredness, and dry cough. Some patients may have aches and pains, nasal congestion, runny nose, sore throat or diarrhea. These symptoms are usually mild and begin gradually. Some people become infected but don’t develop any symptoms and don't feel unwell.

Most people (about 80%) recover from the disease without needing special treatment. Around 1 out of every 6 people who get COVID-19 becomes seriously ill and develops difficulty breathing. Older people, and those with underlying medical problems like high blood pressure, heart problems or diabetes, are more likely to develop serious illness.

People with fever, cough and difficulty breathing should seek medical attention.

Where can I find more information about all the cases in the US?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Oregon

You can find a detailed map with the spread of the cases here: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/cases-in-us.html

What should I do if I am sick?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Oregon

If you think you have been exposed to COVID-19 and develop a fever and symptoms, such as cough or difficulty breathing, call your healthcare provider for medical advice.

You can read more about what the CDC recommends here: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/about/steps-when-sick.html

Where can I find details of all COVID-19 cases in Oregon State?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Oregon

You can access the information about all Coronavirus (COVID-19) cases of the State of Oregon here.

What happens after I file my initial Unemployment Insurance claim?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment benefits, State of Oregon

Whether you file online or by phone, the Oregon Employment Department (ED)staff need to process the application. This can take a few days when workload is heavy.  Once your application is processed, theY will mail you a Wage and Potential Benefit Report
 
On the first Sunday or Monday after you filed your application, file a claim for the prior week. You can file your claim for the prior week  online or by phone on our Weekly Claim Line. You need to file a weekly claim for each week you are unemployed and wish to receive benefits, including your first or “waiting week.“
 
If there are any issues on your claim to investigate, be sure to respond to all letters or phone messages right away. Continue to make your weekly claims while the investigation is taking place. If you don’t make a weekly claim, we can’t begin the investigation. It can take three to four weeks to complete the investigation. 
 
You may be scheduled to attend a meeting at a WorkSource Oregon center. If you do not go, your benefits will be delayed while your case is being investigated.  Depending on the reason you didn’t go, your benefits could be denied.