Frequently asked questions from City of Saginaw

How many times does is property tax billed?

Featured in Pay Property Taxes, City of Saginaw

The City of Saginaw bills property taxes twice a year. July 1st and December 1st.

When are property taxes due?

Featured in Pay Property Taxes, City of Saginaw

  • The July (summer) (City bill) bill is due on/or before July 31st . If the 31st falls on a Saturday or Sunday, then the due date would be the next business day. On August 1st penalty and interest are added.
    • Following is the penalty and interest schedule:
      • August: 0.50% Interest & 0.50% Penalty
      • September: 1.50%
      • October: 2%
      • November: 2.50%
      • December: 3%
      • January: 3.50%
      • February: 4%

The penalty and interest are figured on the unpaid balance. The July bill can be paid online or in the Treasurer's Office at Saginaw City Hall until February 28th. On March 1st any unpaid taxes are transferred to the Saginaw County Treasurer. 

  • The December (winter) (County) bill is mailed December 1st and is due on/or before February 14th. If the 14th falls on a Saturday or Sunday, then the due date is the next business day. On February 15th a penalty is added to the unpaid bills. The penalty is a flat 3% fee. The City of Saginaw charges a 1% administration fee for the billing and collection of the taxes.

Example:

December tax bill $125.95
Admin Fee $1.26
total winter bill $127.21
Penalty 3% $3.78 (125.95 x 3%)

To figure the penalty you would take the December tax bill of $125.95 and multiply by 4%. You do not include the administration fee in your calculation. Your total winter bill with penalty would be $132.25. ($125.95 + 1.26 + 5.04)

The December property tax payments can be paid online or in the Treasurer's Office at Saginaw City Hall until February 28th. On March 1st any unpaid taxes are transferred to the Saginaw County Treasurer. 

What are common parking ordinances?

Featured in Pay Parking Ticket, City of Saginaw

The City of Saginaw has a variety of parking ordinances. Here Listed below are a few of the common ones:

  • No Parking 3-6 a.m. There is no parking on any City street between the hours of 3:00am and 6:00 am.
  • Front Yard Parking. You cannot park in your front yard. This has to be a designated area, either cemented or gravel.
  • Right of Way Parking. You cannot park between the curb and the sidewalk.
  • Blocking Sidewalk. If you park in your driveway you cannot block the sidewalk.
  • Handicapped Parking. If you park in a handicapped space you must have a handicapped license plate or your handicapped tag displayed from your rear view mirror. Lying on the dashboard is not acceptable.

How much is the parking fine?

Featured in Pay Parking Ticket, City of Saginaw

The City of Saginaw parking fees are listed below:

General Parking Overtime

Due now : $15.00
After 10 Days: $30.00

All Other Violations

Due now: $25.00
After 10 Days $50.00

Handicapped

Due now: $150.00
After 10 Days $200.00

What are the late fees and when are they applied?

Featured in Pay Water Bill, City of Saginaw

Your Saginaw bater bill is past due if payment has not been received by 4:00 p.m. on the due date of your bill, at which time a 10% penalty will be applied.

What information is required to apply for unemployment insurance claims in Michigan?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Insurance, State of Michigan

You will need the following information to file a claim for unemployment insurance in Michigan: 

  • Your social security card,
  • Your state issued driver’s license or ID card number or your MARVIN PIN (if you have one),
  • The names and addresses of employers you worked for during the past 18 months along with your quarterly gross
    earnings,
  • The last date of employment with each employer,
  • Your most recent employer’s Federal Employer ID number (FEIN) (especially if you have not filed a claim within the
    last three years or have been employed for less than six months) and Employer Account Number (EAN). Depending
    on your situation, knowing the account number may speed up the processing of your claim.
  • If you are not a U.S. citizen or national, you will need your Alien Registration card and the expiration date of your
    work authorization.

What are the symptoms of COVID-19?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Michigan

The most common symptoms of COVID-19 are fever, tiredness, and dry cough. Some patients may have aches and pains, nasal congestion, runny nose, sore throat or diarrhea. These symptoms are usually mild and begin gradually. Some people become infected but don’t develop any symptoms and don't feel unwell.

Most people (about 80%) recover from the disease without needing special treatment. Around 1 out of every 6 people who get COVID-19 becomes seriously ill and develops difficulty breathing. Older people, and those with underlying medical problems like high blood pressure, heart problems or diabetes, are more likely to develop serious illness.

People with fever, cough and difficulty breathing should seek medical attention.

Where can I find more information about all the cases in the US?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Michigan

You can find a detailed map with the spread of the cases here: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/cases-in-us.html

What should I do if I am sick?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Michigan

If you think you have been exposed to COVID-19 and develop a fever and symptoms, such as cough or difficulty breathing, call your healthcare provider for medical advice.

You can read more about what the CDC recommends here: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/about/steps-when-sick.html