Frequently asked questions from City of Fall River

What happens if I pay my water bill late in Fall River?

Featured in Pay Water Bill, City of Fall River

Interest will be charged at 14% per year on any payment not received by the Collector’s Office by the due date. Postmarks are not accepted. If not paid, Pursuant to Massachusetts General Law Chapter 60 Section 15, a demand fee of $5.00 will be added for both water and sewer charges for a total demand of $10.

Continued failure to pay could result in the unpaid balance being lien on your following year’s Real Estate tax bill or discontinue your water service.

What are the options to pay for a parking ticket in Fall River, MA?

Featured in Pay Parking Ticket, City of Fall River

You can pay for a parking ticket from the City of Fall River, MA in one of the following ways:

  • Pay In Person: Payments can be made in person at the Traffic and Parking Office located in Room 324, One Government Center, Fall River, MA 02722
  • Drop-box: A secure Payment Drop-off Box is available at the Third Street Government Center entrance. 

    Please clearly mark and seal envelope(s) and enclose a self-addressed stamped envelope for a receipt. Payments are credited on the next business day.
  • Pay Online: You can click on the "PAY NOW" button above to make online payments using an electronic check or Mastercard, Visa & Discover Credit cards. 

What is the penalty for late payment of Property taxes?

Featured in Pay Property Taxes, City of Fall River

Interest will be charged at 14% per year on any payment not received by the Collector’s Office by the due date. Postmarks are not accepted.

After fourth quarter (May 1st), any outstanding balance will be demanded. Pursuant to Massachusetts General Law Chapter 60 Section 15, a demand fee of $10.00 will be added.

When are Property taxes due in Fall River, MA?

Featured in Pay Property Taxes, City of Fall River

City of Fall River Personal Property taxes as well as Real Estate taxes are billed quarterly. The due dates are February 1st, May 1st, August 1st, and November 1st. 

When is the tax bill due?

Featured in Pay Property taxes, County of Bristol

All real estate and business personal property tax bills (over $100) are due in two installments; first installment due July 1 on or before August 1 and considered late with interest fees if received or postmarked after that date and second installment due January 1 on or before February 1 and considered late with interest fees if received or postmarked after that date. All motor vehicle tax bills are due July 1 and are due in one installment. These bills can be paid during the entire month of July without any interest penalty and would only be considered late with interest fees added if received or postmarked after August 1. Supplemental motor vehicle tax bills are mailed in late December and are also due in one installment on January 1. These bills can be paid during the entire month of January without any interest penalty and would only be considered late with interest fees added if received or postmarked after February 1.

How can I pay my tax bill?

Featured in Pay Property taxes, County of Bristol

The most convenient and efficient way to pay is by check sent via the USPS. Taxpayers can also pay by credit card (MasterCard, Visa, and Discover) online from home at www.bristolct.gov. There is an additional fee of 2.95% if paying by credit card. Our office does accept cash payment. We do have restrictions of what we will accept for payment if your tax bill is delinquent six months or older.

What happens if I pay late?

Featured in Pay Property taxes, County of Bristol

Tax payments must be received or postmarked by August 1 (first installment) or February 1 (second installment) to avoid the accrual of interest. If a payment is received and is postmarked after August 1, it will immediately be subject to 3% interest (1.5% for July and 1.5% for August). Interest will then continue to accrue at a rate of 1.5% per month (18% annually) and you will be billed for the balance due. The same would be true with the second payment of real estate and personal property taxes if received or postmarked after February 1. The interest will be added back to January and 3% interest will be added immediately on February 2.

Can I make out one check for all of my tax bills?

Featured in Pay Property taxes, County of Bristol

Yes, one check may be written out for all of your City of Bristol taxes. Include your copy of the bill received or write the list numbers on the check to identify specific accounts. Checks should be made payable to the Bristol Tax Collector. Please do not include water or sewer usage or another town's tax amounts with your payment to Bristol.

Who can register to vote?

Featured in Register to Vote, State of Massachusetts

You may submit an online application to register or pre-register to vote in Massachusetts if:

  • You are a citizen of the United States; and
  • You are 16 years old; and
  • You are not currently incarcerated by reason of a felony conviction.

What are the symptoms of COVID-19?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Massachusetts

The most common symptoms of COVID-19 are fever, tiredness, and dry cough. Some patients may have aches and pains, nasal congestion, runny nose, sore throat or diarrhea. These symptoms are usually mild and begin gradually. Some people become infected but don’t develop any symptoms and don't feel unwell.

Most people (about 80%) recover from the disease without needing special treatment. Around 1 out of every 6 people who get COVID-19 becomes seriously ill and develops difficulty breathing. Older people, and those with underlying medical problems like high blood pressure, heart problems or diabetes, are more likely to develop serious illness.

People with fever, cough and difficulty breathing should seek medical attention.

Where can I find more information about all the cases in the US?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Massachusetts

You can find a detailed map with the spread of the cases here: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/cases-in-us.html

What should I do if I am sick?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Massachusetts

If you think you have been exposed to COVID-19 and develop a fever and symptoms, such as cough or difficulty breathing, call your healthcare provider for medical advice.

You can read more about what the CDC recommends here: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/about/steps-when-sick.html

Where can I find all the information about cases reported?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Massachusetts

You can find more information about the cases in Massachusetts here