Frequently asked questions from State of Louisiana

How do I qualify to register to vote?

Featured in Register to Vote, State of Louisiana

You must:

  • be a U.S. citizen;
  • be 17 years old (16 years old if registering in person at the registrar of voters office or at the Louisiana Office of Moter Vehicles), but must be 18 years old to vote; 
  • not be under an order of imprisonment for conviction of a felony;
  • not be under a judgment of full interdiction for mental incompetence or partial interdiction with suspension of voting rights;
  • reside in the state and parish in which you seek to register;
  • must be registered at least 20 days prior to an election if registering online or 30 days in person/via mail.   

What are the symptoms of COVID-19?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Louisiana

The most common symptoms of COVID-19 are fever, tiredness, and dry cough. Some patients may have aches and pains, nasal congestion, runny nose, sore throat or diarrhea. These symptoms are usually mild and begin gradually. Some people become infected but don’t develop any symptoms and don't feel unwell.

Most people (about 80%) recover from the disease without needing special treatment. Around 1 out of every 6 people who get COVID-19 becomes seriously ill and develops difficulty breathing. Older people, and those with underlying medical problems like high blood pressure, heart problems or diabetes, are more likely to develop serious illness.

People with fever, cough and difficulty breathing should seek medical attention.

Where can I find more information about all the cases in the US?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Louisiana

You can find a detailed map with the spread of the cases here:

What should I do if I am sick?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Louisiana

If you think you have been exposed to COVID-19 and develop a fever and symptoms, such as cough or difficulty breathing, call your healthcare provider for medical advice.

You can read more about what the CDC recommends here:

Which number can I reach out if I have questions about the coronavirus outbreak in Louisiana?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Louisiana

You contact the Louisiana 211 Network by dialing dial 211. Or, you can text the keyword LACOVID to 898-211 for the most current information about the outbreak as it becomes available.

Where can I access the latest numbers on cases recorded in the State of Louisiana?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Louisiana

You can follow the latest official numbers from the Louisiana Department of Health here

How do I qualify for unemployment insurance benefits in Louisiana?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Insurance, State of Louisiana

Louisiana State law sets qualifying requirements in three main areas: your past wages, your job separation, and ongoing availability and work search requirements.

You must meet all of the following qualifying requirements in order to receive benefits:

  • Past Wages: You must have earned enough wages in your base period. The base period is the first four of the last five completed calendar quarters before you filed your claim.
  • Reason for separation from your last workYou must be unemployed or partially unemployed through no fault of your own in order to receive benefits.
  • Ongoing availability and work searchYou must be physically able and available to work. You must also be actively seeking work. If you are temporarily laid off and have a definite return-to-work date, your work search requirements may be waived.

How do I file for Unemployment Benefits in Louisiana?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Insurance, State of Louisiana

To file a claim for unemployment insurance in Louisiana, you may contact the UI Call Center @ 1-866-783-5567 or you may file online by clicking the FILE NOW option above. 

Before filing a claim, you will need the following information:

  • Your social security number.
  • Names, addresses, job-site locations and telephone numbers of any employers for whom you worked during the last 18 months.
  • Name and local number of union hall (if applicable).
  • Alien registration number (if applicable).
  • The member-4 copy of your DD214 (if you served in the military during the last 18 months)
  • Your SF-8 and SF-50 (if you worked for a federal employer during the last 18 months). However, do not delay filing if you cannot locate your federal documents.

What are the minimum and maximum amounts of UI benefits in Louisiana?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Insurance, State of Louisiana

The minimum weekly benefit amount of UI in Louisiana is $10.00. The maximum is currently $247. Your weekly benefit amount could be anywhere in this range, depending upon the total amount of wages paid to you during your base period. The total amount of unemployment insurance benefits payable to you would be equal to 26 times your weekly benefit amount.

Please note that these amounts are subject to change from time to time. You should be able to find the latest amounts by contacting the Louisiana Workforce Commission. 

Are UI benefits taxable in Louisiana?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Insurance, State of Louisiana

Any UI benefits you receive in Louisiana are taxable income.

You will be issued Form 1099G at the end of January showing the amount of benefits paid to you, as well as any federal income tax withheld at the time the benefits were paid. The amount on the 1099G is not reduced by any repayments you may have made for overpaid benefits. Therefore, if you repaid any benefits, you must maintain your record of payment, such as reimbursement receipts or canceled check notices to make adjustments to your taxable income and as documentation for the federal Internal Revenue Service and State Tax Office when you file your tax returns.