Frequently asked questions from County of Champaign

When are real properties assessed?

Featured in Pay Property taxes, County of Champaign

In accordance with State Statute, real properties within Champaign County are assessed by Township Assessors. Those Township Assessors are required to complete their work and submit their records to the County Supervisor of Assessments by June 15. The Supervisor of Assessments then applies Township multipliers to those records, if necessary. This work is completed by July. Once those assessments are determined, taxpayers have the opportunity to appeal assessments to the County Board of Review from July 1 through September 10.

What happens if I pay late?

Featured in Pay Property taxes, County of Champaign

Late payment schedules are attached to each payment coupon. Follow these schedules only if paying late . If you follow the late payment schedule you will still receive any legally required late notices. By law, late interest must be charged on payments received after the due date (unless postmarked) and is assessed as 1.5% per month or any part of a month. Late interest increases every 30 days accordingly.

What are the payment options I have?

Featured in Pay Property taxes, County of Champaign

here are several convenient ways to pay your tax bill. They are all listed on the back of each payment coupon. We encourage you to pay at your local participating bank (see insert in your tax bill for names of banks) on or before the due date. Banks cannot accept any payment after the due date. You must have an original payment coupon to pay at a bank. You can mail your payment to us at P.O. Box 9, Urbana, Illinois 61803-0009 (make checks payable to Champaign County Collector). Please include your payment coupon with your check. You can pay on-line at and also by calling toll-free (855) 867-3731 with a credit/debit card or eCheck. Your PIN is needed for both on-line and toll-free phone payments. The following credit cards can be used: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover and Debit. You can pay at our office at the Brookens Center, 1776 E. Washington, Urbana, Illinois 61802-4581. Our office hours are 8am to 4:30pm Monday-Friday, except holidays. We do extend our office hours on the due dates from 7:30am to 5pm. You can also use our 24-hour drop box in the south circle drive of the Brookens Center (under the flag pole). We accept cash, checks, money orders, cashier's check, VISA, MasterCard, American Express, Discover and Debit. Finally, you can sign up for Automatic Withdrawal of your payment from your bank account (see insert in your tax bill for enrolling details). If after signing up for the Automatic Payment system you choose to make a payment on your own you will be removed from the system and you will need to reapply the next tax season.

What should I do if I am sick?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Illinois

If you think you have been exposed to COVID-19 and develop a fever and symptoms, such as cough or difficulty breathing, call your healthcare provider for medical advice.

You can read more about what the CDC recommends here:

What are the symptoms of COVID-19?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Illinois

The most common symptoms of COVID-19 are fever, tiredness, and dry cough. Some patients may have aches and pains, nasal congestion, runny nose, sore throat or diarrhea. These symptoms are usually mild and begin gradually. Some people become infected but don’t develop any symptoms and don't feel unwell.

Most people (about 80%) recover from the disease without needing special treatment. Around 1 out of every 6 people who get COVID-19 becomes seriously ill and develops difficulty breathing. Older people, and those with underlying medical problems like high blood pressure, heart problems or diabetes, are more likely to develop serious illness.

People with fever, cough and difficulty breathing should seek medical attention.

Where can I find more information about all the cases in the US?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Illinois

You can find a detailed map with the spread of the cases here:

How long can I receive unemployment benefits in Illinois?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Insurance, State of Illinois

​Assuming you are eligible, it is possible to receive as many as 26 weeks of benefits within your benefit year.  The Monthly Base Amount (WBA x 26) is the total gross amount of money you will receive (not including dependent allowance).  

Why did I get an overpayment notice from the Illinois Department of Employment Security (IDES)?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Insurance, State of Illinois

Overpayments generally occur due to under-reporting of wages when certifying or a deny determination for an issue that retroactively disqualifies benefits already received.  Contact Claimant Services at 800-244-5631 for questions and info on appeal rights. 

If IDES has determined that you have been improperly paid unemployment insurance benefits, the amount of the overpayment will appear on the Notice of Reconsidered Determination and Recoupment Decision. By law, you must repay the entire amount you owe [Section 900 of the Illinois Unemployment Insurance Act (820 ILCS 405/900)]. If you are unable to pay the entire amount in one lump sum, you may enter into a monthly installment plan.