Services offered by
State of Florida

Find services provided by the State agencies for all its residents

Frequently asked questions from City of Pompano Beach

Who can renew business tax receipts online in Pompano Beach, Florida?

Featured in Renew Business License, City of Pompano Beach

Pompano Beach Businesses with BTR classifications beginning with 003-001 and ending with 193-001 can be renewed online.

Please note that there are certain type of business classifications that require documentation prior to renewal and therefore cannot be renewed online. This is usually marked on the renewal notice sent to you. 

Do I need a City Business Tax Receipt in Pompano Beach even if I have a Broward County Tax Receipt?

Featured in Renew Business License, City of Pompano Beach

Yes! If your business is located inside the City of Pompano Beach city limits, a City issued BTR is required.

What are the options to pay water utilities in Pampano Beach, Florida?

Featured in Pay Water Bill, City of Pompano Beach

The City of Pampano Beach offers the following options to make Utility Payments:

Pay by Mail:
Pampano Beach Utility payments can be mailed in the form a check or money order to the following address: 

City of Pompano Beach
P O Box 908
Pompano Beach, FL 33061

Pay in Person: Utility payments can be made in person by visiting the offices located at:

100 W. Atlantic Boulevard,
Pompano Beach, FL 33060
City Hall 1st Floor, room 119

Pay Online: You can make one-time payments or set up your online account for recurring payments by using the "PAY NOW" button above. 

What are my options for a payable Broward County traffic ticket?

Featured in Pay for Traffic Citation, County of Broward

Option 1: Pay citation within 30 days

  • Plead guilty
  • No driving school (Points will be assessed if applicable)
  • No court appearance

Option 2: Pay Citation/Elect to attend driving school within 30 days of receiving citation

  • Plead no contest
  • No court appearance
  • It is your responsibility to elect and enroll in a driving school
  • Retain a copy of your citation in order to register at any Florida approved driving school
  • Complete driving school within 90 days of making election and send completion to the Clerk of the Courts Traffic Division (Failure to complete school timely may result in additional fees and/or points being assessed)
  • DO NOT send driving school fees to the Clerk of Courts
  • NOTE: Violations not eligible for Driving School
    • Child Restraint violations
    • A person who holds a Commercial Motor Vehicle Driver License
    • Certain speeding violations of 30 MPH and above

Option 3: Plead not guilty within 30 days to request a court hearing

  • A person charged with any Civil Traffic violation may request a hearing within 30 days and up to 180 days after the violation. If the 180th day falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the person who is charged must request the hearing within 177 days after the violation. If after 180 days the defendant may request a hearing by submitting a defendant request order form to the Judge or Hearing officer to review.
  • A plea of not guilty is filed in person, by mail, or via the Florida Courts E-Filing Portal.
  • The case is set for a pretrial conference date and the violator is notified via mail.
  • Failure to appear for a court date may result in a license suspension being issued or hearing held in absentia.

What if my fine is overdue or I need an extension?

Featured in Pay for Traffic Citation, County of Broward

If you received a payable traffic ticket from Broward County, your payment must be received in the Clerk's Office within 30 calendar days of the date you received your citation as noted on the information you were given by the law enforcement officer. Failure to comply will result in the suspension of your driver license and additional delinquent fees will be assessed.

If you have appeared in court and previously were given time to pay your fine by the Judge or Hearing Officer, and are now requiring additional time to pay your fine, you must request this extension in writing, for consideration. Please make this request to the Judge or Hearing Officer you appeared before. If you do not remember the Judge or Hearing Officer's name, you may address the request to the "Honorable Judge of the County Court". Please forward your request to the Broward Clerk of Courts.

Once the Judge or Hearing Officer has rendered a decision, the Clerk's Office will advise you of the decision by mail.

When do property taxes become delinquent in Broward County (FL)?

Featured in Pay Property Taxes, County of Broward

Property taxes become delinquent on April 1 following the year of assessment. In accordance with Florida Statutes, if your property taxes are not paid, a tax certificate will be sold on or before June 1.​

If I owe both current and delinquent taxes, which should be paid first?

Featured in Pay Property Taxes, County of Broward

The oldest tax year should always be paid first.​

Can I spread my property tax payments out over time in Broward County, FL?

Featured in Pay Property Taxes, County of Broward

Broward County offers an installment plan for current taxes, and an installment plan for prepayment of next year’s taxes. It is the responsibility of taxpayers participating in each of these programs to ensure taxes are paid according to the schedule.

Please note that the Broward County Tax Collector does not send monthly invoices or billing statements.​

How are property tax bills calculated in Broward County, FL?

Featured in Pay Property Taxes, County of Broward

The amount of property taxes you owe in Broward County is determined by two things: the assessed value of the property, and the tax rate.

The Broward County Property Appraiser’s Office assesses the value of your property and applies eligible tax exemptions that can lower the taxable value of your property. The tax rate is determined by the entities that have taxing authority over the community in which your property is located. This would include the Broward County Commission, the Broward School Board, your municipality, a hospital district, multi-county districts such as the South Florida Water Management District, and others. The tax rate for each of these entities is expressed as dollars per thousand and multiplied by the assessed value. The sum of these amounts is the tax you owe.​

Are there any discounts for paying property taxes early in Broward County?

Featured in Pay Property Taxes, County of Broward

Broward County (FL) Property taxes must be paid no later than March 31 of the following year to avoid delinquency interest, fees, and penalties, but may be paid as early as November 1 of the current year to take advantage of early-payment discounts. 

Discounts for payments made in full are as follows: 

  • 4% discount if paid in November; 
  • 3% discount applies in December; 
  • 2% discount in January; 
  • 1% discount in February. 

The discounted amounts that apply to each month between November and February are already reflected on property tax bill coupons. These discounts apply only to full tax payments. Making a partial payment of property taxes forfeits any applicable discount otherwise available for full tax payments. 

When do property taxes become delinquent in Broward County, Florida?

Featured in Pay Property Taxes, County of Broward

Property taxes become delinquent on April 1 following the year of assessment. In accordance with Florida Statutes, if your property taxes are not paid, a tax certificate will be sold on or before June 1.​

Who is eligible to register to vote?

Featured in Register to Vote, State of Florida

To be eligible to register to vote you must:

  • Be a citizen of the United States of America;
  • Be a legal resident of Florida;
  • Be a legal resident of the county in which you seek to be registered;
  • Be at least 16 years old to preregister or at least 18 years old to register and vote;
  • Not be a person who has been adjudicated mentally incapacitated with respect to voting in Florida or any other state without having the right to vote restored; and,
  • Not be a person who has been convicted of a felony without your civil rights having been restored.

Can I receive benefits in Florida if I am placed on part-time work?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Benefits, State of Florida

If your employer reduces your hours against your will, you may be eligible for partial benefits. If you are earning less than $275 in gross earnings per week, you can file a claim to determine if you would be eligible to receive partial payments.  

What is Reemployment Assistance?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Benefits, State of Florida

The State of Florida's Unemployment Insurance was rebranded with the name Reemployment Assistance to reflect the comprehensive goal of assisting Floridians find work during periods of unemployment through monetary assistance when eligible and training through Florida’s CareerSource centers.  

How/Where do I file a claim for unemployment benefits in the State of Florida?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Benefits, State of Florida

You can file a claim online via Florida’s CONNECT claims system by clicking the FILE NOW button above.  

If you cannot file a claim online because of legal reasons, computer illiteracy, language barriers, or disabilities you may call 1-800-681-8102. Your claim can be filed by phone 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST, Monday through Friday.  

When do employment benefit claims begin in Florida?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Benefits, State of Florida

 Your claim is effective Sunday of the week you complete your application. By the Florida state law, the first week of a claim for which you would have been eligible for payment is an unpaid week. This week is considered your “waiting week.”  

Who pays for my Reemployment Assistance (RA) benefits?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Benefits, State of Florida

Florida employers pay for RA through a tax managed by the Florida Department of Revenue. It is one of the employer's business costs. Workers do not pay reemployment taxes.  

How are my unemployment benefits calculated in the State of Florida?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Benefits, State of Florida

The wages used to determine your benefit amounts are the first four of the last five calendar quarters.

For example, Claims filed in October 2019 use wages earned between 10/01/2018 through 09/30/2019.

Once the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity has the wages on record, they verify the following to determine if you are eligible for benefits:

  • $3400 minimum gross earnings during base period.
  • You must have a minimum of two quarters of covered wages.
  • Total base period gross wages must be more than 1.5x the highest wage quarter.

Once they complete those checks, the last steps are simple:

  • Weekly Benefit Amount (WBA)
    WBA is the highest quarter divided by 26 OR the weekly amount $275, whichever is less
  • Maximum Benefit Amount (MBA)
    MBA is your total base period wages divided by 4 OR the yearly maximum, whichever is less

What is the maximum amount of unemployment benefits I can receive in the State of Florida?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Benefits, State of Florida

Florida maximum benefits adjust every year based on the previous year’s unemployment rates.

2019 Claim Maximums: 12 weeks                   
Weekly Benefit Amount (WBA): $275            
Maximum Benefit Amount (MBA): $3300    

2020 Claim Maximums: 12 weeks
Weekly Benefit Amount (WBA): $275
Maximum Benefit Amount (MBA): $3300

Please note that these can be adjusted in times of severe events & you will need to check with the DEO if there are any changes. 

What are the symptoms of COVID-19?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Florida

The most common symptoms of COVID-19 are fever, tiredness, and dry cough. Some patients may have aches and pains, nasal congestion, runny nose, sore throat or diarrhea. These symptoms are usually mild and begin gradually. Some people become infected but don’t develop any symptoms and don't feel unwell.

Most people (about 80%) recover from the disease without needing special treatment. Around 1 out of every 6 people who get COVID-19 becomes seriously ill and develops difficulty breathing. Older people, and those with underlying medical problems like high blood pressure, heart problems or diabetes, are more likely to develop serious illness.

People with fever, cough and difficulty breathing should seek medical attention.

Where can I find more information about all the cases in the US?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Florida

You can find a detailed map with the spread of the cases here: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/cases-in-us.html

What should I do if I am sick?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Florida

If you think you have been exposed to COVID-19 and develop a fever and symptoms, such as cough or difficulty breathing, call your healthcare provider for medical advice.

You can read more about what the CDC recommends here: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/about/steps-when-sick.html

Where can I find the list of all Community Health Centers in Florida?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Florida

Florida’s Community Health Centers deliver high-quality, community-based comprehensive health care services to all patients, regardless of their ability to pay. With 600-plus locations statewide, Community Health Centers serve more than 1.6 million patients every year, ensuring that all Floridians receive the health care they need in a way that’s economical for taxpayers.

You can find the list of all Community Health Centers here. Alternatively, you can search for them by your address here: https://www.fachc.org/find-a-health-center#/

Are there any toolkits from the State Department of Health?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Florida

You can access the list of all official toolkits from Florida State DOH here

Coronavirus Updates

The World Health Organization has declared the coronavirus outbreak a pandemic. Get the latest alerts from your local government agency here.

Coronavirus Updates
The World Health Organization has declared the coronavirus outbreak a pandemic. Get the latest alerts from your local government agency here.