Online Services offered by
State of Florida

Find services provided by the State agencies for all its residents

Frequently asked questions from County of Highlands

Is there any discount on early payment?

Featured in Pay Property taxes, County of Highlands

Tax statements are mailed out by November 1st of each year with the following discounts in effect for early payment: 4% if paid in November 3% if paid in December 2% if paid in January 1% if paid in February

How much is the convenience fee for paying property taxes with a credit card?

Featured in Pay Property taxes, County of Highlands

if paying by credit card, a 2.75% convenience fee is charged by our software provider if paying by e-check (providing you are not paying delinquent taxes), no convenience fee is charged

What is the penalty for non-payment of tangible personal property in Highlands County, Florida?

Featured in Pay Property taxes, County of Highlands

The following are the penalties imposed for failing to file, or improper or late filing of a Tangible return in Highlands County.

  • Failure to file a return - 25% penalty.
  • Filing after due date - 5% penalty each month up to 25%.
  • Failing to properly file - 15% of corrected value.

When are property taxes for real estate due in Highlands County, Florida?

Featured in Pay Property taxes, County of Highlands

Real Estate Property Taxes in Highlands County become delinquent April 1st of each year, at which time a 3% penalty is added to the bill plus advertising costs.

What is Tangible Personal Property?

Featured in Pay Property taxes, County of Highlands

Tangible ersonal Property is tangible and portable objects considered by the general public as being "personal" e.g., furnishings, machinery and equipment. Tangible Personal Property includes, but is not limited to: machinery, equipment, furniture, fixtures, signs, window air conditioners, supplies, leased, loaned, borrowed, or rented equipment, mobile home attachments on rented land (including cabana rooms, carports, etc.) and furnishings in rental units.

How do I apply for Medicaid in Florida online?

Featured in Apply for Medicaid Online, State of Florida

 Individuals may apply for assistance online at: www.myflorida.com/accessflorida/ Additional information about Medicaid for low income families is available in the Family-Related Medicaid Fact Sheet. 

How long does it take to get approved for Medicaid in Florida?

Featured in Apply for Medicaid Online, State of Florida

 

approximately 2-3 weeks

It takes approximately 2-3 weeks to get a Medicaid card after your case is approved

What are the requirements to get Medicaid in Florida?

Featured in Apply for Medicaid Online, State of Florida

 To be eligible for Florida Medicaid, you must be a resident of the state of Florida, a U.S. national, citizen, permanent resident, or legal alien, in need of health care/insurance assistance, whose financial situation would be characterized as low income or very low income

Is it hard to get Medicaid in Florida?

Featured in Apply for Medicaid Online, State of Florida

 About 3.7 million people in Florida are eligible for Medicaid in Florida, and about 219,000 Florida children are enrolled in the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) as of June 2020. Income limits to qualify for Medicaid in Florida are very low, and most adults who don't have children aren't eligible to enroll. 

Who is eligible to register to vote?

Featured in Register to Vote, State of Florida

To be eligible to register to vote you must:

  • Be a citizen of the United States of America;
  • Be a legal resident of Florida;
  • Be a legal resident of the county in which you seek to be registered;
  • Be at least 16 years old to preregister or at least 18 years old to register and vote;
  • Not be a person who has been adjudicated mentally incapacitated with respect to voting in Florida or any other state without having the right to vote restored; and,
  • Not be a person who has been convicted of a felony without your civil rights having been restored.

Who should be paying Franchise Taxes in Florida?

Featured in Pay Franchise Taxes, State of Florida

  • All corporations (including tax-exempt organizations) doing business, earning income, or existing in Florida.
  • Every bank and savings association doing business, earning income, or existing in Florida.
  • All associations or artificial entities doing business, earning income, or existing in Florida.
  • Foreign (out-of-state) corporations that are partners or members in a Florida partnership or joint venture. A "Florida partnership" is a partnership doing business, earning income, or existing in Florida.
  • A limited liability company (LLC) classified as a corporation for Florida and federal income tax purposes is subject to the Florida Income Tax Code and must file a Florida corporate income/franchise tax return.
  • An LLC classified as a partnership for Florida and federal income tax purposes must file a Florida Partnership Information Return (Form F-1065)  if one or more of its owners is a corporation. In addition, the  corporate owner of an LLC classified as a partnership for Florida and federal income tax  purposes must file a Florida corporate income/franchise tax return.
  • A single member LLC disregarded for federal and  Florida income tax purposes is not required to file a separate Florida  corporate income tax return. The income must be reported on the owner’s return if the single  member LLC is owned, directly or indirectly, by a corporation. The  corporation must file a Florida corporate income/franchise tax return, reporting its own income and  the income of the single member LLC, even if the only activity of the  corporation is ownership of the single member LLC.
  • Homeowner and condominium associations that file the U.S. Corporation Income Tax Return (Federal Form 1120) must file Florida Corporate Income/Franchise Tax Return (Form F-1120) or the Florida Corporate Short Form Income Tax Return (F-1120A) regardless of whether any tax may be due. If you file the U.S. Income Tax Return for Homeowners Associations (Federal Form 1120-H), you are not required to file a Florida return.
  • Political organizations that file Federal Form 1120-POL.
  • S corporations that pay federal income tax on Line 22c of Federal Form 1120S.
  • Tax-exempt organizations that have "unrelated trade or business income" for federal income tax purposes are subject to Florida corporate income tax and must file either Form F-1120 or Form F-1120A.

What is the due date for filing franchise taxes in Florida?

Featured in Pay Franchise Taxes, State of Florida

Corporate income tax is reported using a Florida Corporate Income/Franchise Tax Return  (Florida Form F-1120). Corporations must file Florida Form F-1120 each year, even if no tax is due. The due date is based on the corporation’s tax year.

Generally, Florida Form F-1120 is due the later of:

  1. For tax years ending June 30, the due date is on or before the 1st day of the 4th month following the close of the tax year; or For all other tax year endings, the due date is on or before  the 1st day of the 5th month following the close of the tax year (e.g., Florida Form F-1120 is due on May  1, 2017, for a taxpayer with a taxable year end date of December 31, 2016).      
  2. The 15th day following the due date, without extension, for the filing of the related federal return for the taxable year.

What is the penalty for late payment of Franchise Taxes in Florida?

Featured in Pay Franchise Taxes, State of Florida

If you file your return or pay tax late,  a penalty of 10% of any unpaid tax for each 30 days or fraction  thereof, not to exceed a total penalty of 50% of unpaid tax, is charged. If no tax is due,  the penalty for a late filed return is $50 per month or fraction thereof, not to exceed $300. A floating rate of interest applies to  underpayments and late payments of tax. Interest rates can be found on the Department's Tax and Interest Rates webpage.

Can I receive benefits in Florida if I am placed on part-time work?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Benefits, State of Florida

If your employer reduces your hours against your will, you may be eligible for partial benefits. If you are earning less than $275 in gross earnings per week, you can file a claim to determine if you would be eligible to receive partial payments.  

What is Reemployment Assistance?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Benefits, State of Florida

The State of Florida's Unemployment Insurance was rebranded with the name Reemployment Assistance to reflect the comprehensive goal of assisting Floridians find work during periods of unemployment through monetary assistance when eligible and training through Florida’s CareerSource centers.  

How/Where do I file a claim for unemployment benefits in the State of Florida?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Benefits, State of Florida

You can file a claim online via Florida’s CONNECT claims system by clicking the FILE NOW button above.  

If you cannot file a claim online because of legal reasons, computer illiteracy, language barriers, or disabilities you may call 1-800-681-8102. Your claim can be filed by phone 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST, Monday through Friday.  

When do employment benefit claims begin in Florida?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Benefits, State of Florida

 Your claim is effective Sunday of the week you complete your application. By the Florida state law, the first week of a claim for which you would have been eligible for payment is an unpaid week. This week is considered your “waiting week.”  

Who pays for my Reemployment Assistance (RA) benefits?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Benefits, State of Florida

Florida employers pay for RA through a tax managed by the Florida Department of Revenue. It is one of the employer's business costs. Workers do not pay reemployment taxes.  

How are my unemployment benefits calculated in the State of Florida?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Benefits, State of Florida

The wages used to determine your benefit amounts are the first four of the last five calendar quarters.

For example, Claims filed in October 2019 use wages earned between 10/01/2018 through 09/30/2019.

Once the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity has the wages on record, they verify the following to determine if you are eligible for benefits:

  • $3400 minimum gross earnings during base period.
  • You must have a minimum of two quarters of covered wages.
  • Total base period gross wages must be more than 1.5x the highest wage quarter.

Once they complete those checks, the last steps are simple:

  • Weekly Benefit Amount (WBA)
    WBA is the highest quarter divided by 26 OR the weekly amount $275, whichever is less
  • Maximum Benefit Amount (MBA)
    MBA is your total base period wages divided by 4 OR the yearly maximum, whichever is less

What is the maximum amount of unemployment benefits I can receive in the State of Florida?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Benefits, State of Florida

Florida maximum benefits adjust every year based on the previous year’s unemployment rates.

2019 Claim Maximums: 12 weeks                   
Weekly Benefit Amount (WBA): $275            
Maximum Benefit Amount (MBA): $3300    

2020 Claim Maximums: 12 weeks
Weekly Benefit Amount (WBA): $275
Maximum Benefit Amount (MBA): $3300

Please note that these can be adjusted in times of severe events & you will need to check with the DEO if there are any changes. 

Does the State of Florida offer any expedited processing of Unemployment Insurance due to Coronavirus COVID-19?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Benefits, State of Florida

The Florida Department of Economic Opportunity (DEO) announced the waiving of the requirement to wait a week to receive Reemployment Assistance benefits through May 8, 2020. The waiting week has been waived so eligible Floridians may receive the support they need to help recover from the current economic impacts of COVID-19.

What are the symptoms of COVID-19?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Florida

The most common symptoms of COVID-19 are fever, tiredness, and dry cough. Some patients may have aches and pains, nasal congestion, runny nose, sore throat or diarrhea. These symptoms are usually mild and begin gradually. Some people become infected but don’t develop any symptoms and don't feel unwell.

Most people (about 80%) recover from the disease without needing special treatment. Around 1 out of every 6 people who get COVID-19 becomes seriously ill and develops difficulty breathing. Older people, and those with underlying medical problems like high blood pressure, heart problems or diabetes, are more likely to develop serious illness.

People with fever, cough and difficulty breathing should seek medical attention.

Where can I find more information about all the cases in the US?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Florida

You can find a detailed map with the spread of the cases here: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/cases-in-us.html

What should I do if I am sick?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Florida

If you think you have been exposed to COVID-19 and develop a fever and symptoms, such as cough or difficulty breathing, call your healthcare provider for medical advice.

You can read more about what the CDC recommends here: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/about/steps-when-sick.html

Where can I find the list of all Community Health Centers in Florida?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Florida

Florida’s Community Health Centers deliver high-quality, community-based comprehensive health care services to all patients, regardless of their ability to pay. With 600-plus locations statewide, Community Health Centers serve more than 1.6 million patients every year, ensuring that all Floridians receive the health care they need in a way that’s economical for taxpayers.

You can find the list of all Community Health Centers here. Alternatively, you can search for them by your address here: https://www.fachc.org/find-a-health-center#/

Are there any toolkits from the State Department of Health?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Florida

You can access the list of all official toolkits from Florida State DOH here

How to Pay Property taxes Online in the County of Highlands?

You can access all the information on how to Pay Property taxes Online here.

How to Apply for Medicaid Online Online in the County of Highlands?

You can access all the information on how to Apply for Medicaid Online Online here.

How to Register to Vote Online in the County of Highlands?

You can access all the information on how to Register to Vote Online here.

How to Pay Franchise Taxes Online in the County of Highlands?

You can access all the information on how to Pay Franchise Taxes Online here.

How to Apply for Unemployment Benefits Online in the County of Highlands?

You can access all the information on how to Apply for Unemployment Benefits Online here.

How to Pay for Traffic Citation Online in the County of Highlands?

You can access all the information on how to Pay for Traffic Citation Online here.

How to Renew Vehicle Registration Online in the County of Highlands?

You can access all the information on how to Renew Vehicle Registration Online here.

How to Driver License Renewal Online in the County of Highlands?

You can access all the information on how to Driver License Renewal Online here.

How to Corona COVID-19 Response Online in the County of Highlands?

You can access all the information on how to Corona COVID-19 Response Online here.

ADAD

Community Q&A

You can ask any questions related to services from this location here. We will try to answer them soon! You can choose the option of "Post as Guest" below to post anonymously.


papergov

Papergov is the leading place to discover & act on all local government services.

papergov

Papergov is the leading place to discover & act on all local government services.

© 2021, Openly Technologies, Inc.