Pay by Phone (Automated System): Using this option, you can pay your citation anytime by calling the toll free number (800) 969-6158. MasterCard, VISA, American Express and Discover cards are accepted for payments. Please note that a $3.50 convenience fee will be added to each credit card transaction.
Pay by Phone (by speaking to a Customer Service Representative): You can call (727) 298-3660 from 8AM-5PM eastern time, Monday-Friday (excluding holidays) to speak to a City Customer Service representative to pay your citation. MasterCard, VISA, American Express and Discover cards are accepted for payments. Please note that a $3.50 convenience fee will be added to each credit card transaction.
Pay in Person: You can pay your citation in person from Monday - Friday, 8am to 5pm at the Garden Ave. Parking Garage, 28 N. Garden Ave., Clearwater. You can your citation in Cash or by using MasterCard, VISA, American Express and Discover cards. A $3.50 convenience fee will be added to each credit card transaction. You can also place your payment (no cash) and ticket in an envelope and deposit in the Drop Box located at the Garden Ave Garage, 28 N. Garden Ave, Clearwater. Payments received after 5 p.m. on the due date will be considered late and will incur additional fines.
Pay by Mail: Please make a Check or Money Order payable to the City of Clearwater and mention Ticket Number and Vehicle License on the check or money order. Total amount due must be received before dates shown on front of ticket to avoid additional fines.
You can mail your payment and ticket in envelope addressed to: City of Clearwater Parking System Citation Processing Center PO Box 4460 Clearwater, FL 33758-4460
Where can I park on weekends or during downtown special events in Clearwater, FL?
All downtown city parking facilities are available (unless posted for an event) and offer parking free of charge on weekends, holidays, and weeknights after 6 p.m. (after 7 p.m. at the Garden Avenue Garage or Station Square Garage).
Do vehicles with handicap tags have to pay to park in the City of Clearwater?
Vehicles with handicap tags parked at a metered space in the city of Clearwater do not have to pay for parking, but all posted time limits and restrictions must be followed. However, vehicles parked in a cashier-operated facility or parking garage must pay unless they have a Florida Toll Exemption or a specially equipped vehicle (ramps, lifts, hand controls).
How long do I have to contest a parking ticket issued in Clearwater, FL?
Beginning April 1, unpaid accounts in Pinellas County accrue interest at 1.5 % a month, plus additional costs. According to Florida law, the names of people or businesses with unpaid tangible personal property taxes are advertised in the newspaper. The cost of advertising is added to the delinquent tax bill. A written lien (also called a warrant) is then issued on all unpaid accounts, and a certified notice is sent to the owner named on the tax roll.
If taxes are still not paid, the Pinellas County Tax Collector must petition the Circuit Court to have a judge “confirm” the warrant that authorizes the Tax Collector to seize and sell the personal property to pay the taxes. The court costs are added to the delinquent tax bill, along with a delinquent collection fee of 15%. If the property cannot be located or is sold for less than the amount due, all other personal property of the taxpayer is subject to seizure and sale.
When are tax bills mailed and due in Pinellas County, Florida?
If your employer reduces your hours against your will, you may be eligible for partial benefits. If you are earning less than $275 in gross earnings per week, you can file a claim to determine if you would be eligible to receive partial payments.
The State of Florida's Unemployment Insurance was rebranded with the name Reemployment Assistance to reflect the comprehensive goal of assisting Floridians find work during periods of unemployment through monetary assistance when eligible and training through Florida’s CareerSource centers.
How/Where do I file a claim for unemployment benefits in the State of Florida?
You can file a claim online via Florida’s CONNECT claims system by clicking the FILE NOW button above.
If you cannot file a claim online because of legal reasons, computer illiteracy, language barriers, or disabilities you may call 1-800-681-8102. Your claim can be filed by phone 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST, Monday through Friday.
When do employment benefit claims begin in Florida?
Your claim is effective Sunday of the week you complete your application. By the Florida state law, the first week of a claim for which you would have been eligible for payment is an unpaid week. This week is considered your “waiting week.”
Who pays for my Reemployment Assistance (RA) benefits?
The Florida Department of Economic Opportunity (DEO) announced the waiving of the requirement to wait a week to receive Reemployment Assistance benefits through May 8, 2020. The waiting week has been waived so eligible Floridians may receive the support they need to help recover from the current economic impacts of COVID-19.
The most common symptoms of COVID-19 are fever, tiredness, and dry cough. Some patients may have aches and pains, nasal congestion, runny nose, sore throat or diarrhea. These symptoms are usually mild and begin gradually. Some people become infected but don’t develop any symptoms and don't feel unwell.
Most people (about 80%) recover from the disease without needing special treatment. Around 1 out of every 6 people who get COVID-19 becomes seriously ill and develops difficulty breathing. Older people, and those with underlying medical problems like high blood pressure, heart problems or diabetes, are more likely to develop serious illness.
People with fever, cough and difficulty breathing should seek medical attention.
Where can I find more information about all the cases in the US?
Florida’s Community Health Centers deliver high-quality, community-based comprehensive health care services to all patients, regardless of their ability to pay. With 600-plus locations statewide, Community Health Centers serve more than 1.6 million patients every year, ensuring that all Floridians receive the health care they need in a way that’s economical for taxpayers.