Current year property taxes in Citrus County are rolled out on November 1 each year (paid in arrears), at which time they may be paid with a due date of March 31. The following discounts are applied if paid early:
4% discount if paid in November.
3% discount if paid in December.
2% discount if paid in January.
1% discount if paid in February.
Gross amount paid in March, no discount applied.
Citrus County Property Taxes become delinquent April 1st of each year.
Unpaid real estate taxes in Citrus County become delinquent on April 1st of the year following the tax year. A 3% penalty is added at that time.
Beginning June 1st each year, Delinquent Real estate taxes must be paid in certified funds such as: A money order, cashier’s check or certified check payable in US funds. Please note online bill payment checks are not accepted as a form of certified funds.Credit & Debit cards are accepted in the office or from our website.
Accounts unpaid as of mid April are charged an advertising fee and are advertised in a local newspaper 3 times during the month.If the taxes remain unpaid, a tax certificate or lien against the property, will be sold on or before June 1st for the amount of unpaid taxes, penalty and costs. Interest accrues on the tax certificate from June 1st until the taxes are paid.After two years, the tax certificate is eligible for Tax Deed application, which will result in the loss of the property if the taxes remain unpaid.
Unpaid tangible personal property taxes become delinquent on April 1st of the year following the tax year. A $10.00 delinquent fee is added, and interest accrues at the rate of 1.5% per month.Accounts unpaid as of May 1 are charged an advertising fee, a delinquent collection fee and are published in a local newspaper by May 15th. If the taxes remain unpaid, a warrant will be issued and the Tax Collector will petition the Circuit Court to have a judge confirm the warrants (over $50.00 only). The costs associated with the warrant are added to the tax bill.
The Citrus County Tax Collector accepts partial payments with a signed affidavit (contact our office at (352) 341-6500, option 2 or by visiting their nearest office for a copy of the affidavit), per Florida Statute 197.374. The property owner must agree to and understand the following:
Only two partial payments will be accepted
Partial payments will be accepted for current year taxes only between November 1st and March 31st.
No discount is allowed for partial payments.
A $10 processing fee will be charged on each partial payment.
All discounts will be forfeited.
It is my responsibility to ascertain the balance due.
No additional tax bills will be mailed except the reminder notice per F.S.197.343.
Any remaining balance as of April 1st is considered delinquent and subject to all applicable penalties and fees, in which a tax certificate could be sold.
Parcels already on the quarterly installment plan are not eligible
You must contact the Citrus County Property Appraiser's Office at (352) 341-6600 to file for homestead exemption. For more information regarding homestead exemption, you may visit their website by clicking here.
Can I receive benefits in Florida if I am placed on part-time work?
If your employer reduces your hours against your will, you may be eligible for partial benefits. If you are earning less than $275 in gross earnings per week, you can file a claim to determine if you would be eligible to receive partial payments.
The State of Florida's Unemployment Insurance was rebranded with the name Reemployment Assistance to reflect the comprehensive goal of assisting Floridians find work during periods of unemployment through monetary assistance when eligible and training through Florida’s CareerSource centers.
How/Where do I file a claim for unemployment benefits in the State of Florida?
You can file a claim online via Florida’s CONNECT claims system by clicking the FILE NOW button above.
If you cannot file a claim online because of legal reasons, computer illiteracy, language barriers, or disabilities you may call 1-800-681-8102. Your claim can be filed by phone 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST, Monday through Friday.
When do employment benefit claims begin in Florida?
Your claim is effective Sunday of the week you complete your application. By the Florida state law, the first week of a claim for which you would have been eligible for payment is an unpaid week. This week is considered your “waiting week.”
Who pays for my Reemployment Assistance (RA) benefits?
The Florida Department of Economic Opportunity (DEO) announced the waiving of the requirement to wait a week to receive Reemployment Assistance benefits through May 8, 2020. The waiting week has been waived so eligible Floridians may receive the support they need to help recover from the current economic impacts of COVID-19.
The most common symptoms of COVID-19 are fever, tiredness, and dry cough. Some patients may have aches and pains, nasal congestion, runny nose, sore throat or diarrhea. These symptoms are usually mild and begin gradually. Some people become infected but don’t develop any symptoms and don't feel unwell.
Most people (about 80%) recover from the disease without needing special treatment. Around 1 out of every 6 people who get COVID-19 becomes seriously ill and develops difficulty breathing. Older people, and those with underlying medical problems like high blood pressure, heart problems or diabetes, are more likely to develop serious illness.
People with fever, cough and difficulty breathing should seek medical attention.
Where can I find more information about all the cases in the US?
Florida’s Community Health Centers deliver high-quality, community-based comprehensive health care services to all patients, regardless of their ability to pay. With 600-plus locations statewide, Community Health Centers serve more than 1.6 million patients every year, ensuring that all Floridians receive the health care they need in a way that’s economical for taxpayers.