City of Bradenton

City of Bradenton

Services offered by
State of Florida

Find services provided by the State agencies for all its residents

Frequently asked questions from City of Bradenton

Are there other ways to pay for my Bradenton City parking ticket?

Featured in Pay Parking Ticket, City of Bradenton

Sure, here are a couple of other options: 

  • To pay by phone, please call 866-887-8271 and have your ticket number and your credit card number with you.
  • To pay in person, visit the Bradenton Police Department, 100 10th St. W., between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday through Thursday. Please note that no payments are accepted on Friday. 

How can I pay my Bradenton Utility Bill?

Featured in Pay Utility Bill, City of Bradenton

There are several ways to conveniently pay your City of Bradenton utility bill: 

  • You can Pay by phone using credit card or eCheck. Call toll-free (877) 631-7796 and have your City of Bradenton 14-digit account number ready.   
  • Pay at any Florida Amscot location in the city. Please note that Amscot charges customers a $1.50 fee for this service.
  • Mail check or money order with bill and/or account number to:

    City of Bradenton
    Attn: Customer Service
    P.O. Box 1339
    Bradenton FL 34206-1339
  • Pay in person by cash, check, money order, or credit card (we only accept VISA or MasterCard at this time) at:
    Bradenton City Hall – 1st Floor
    101 12th Street West (Old Main Street) 
    Bradenton FL 34205 

Lobby hours: Monday - Thursday 7:30 AM to 6:00 PM, Friday 7:30 AM - 3:30 PM
After hours: Payment drop box located outside the 12th/Old Main Street entrance to City Hall.

When are utility bills due in Bradenton, FL?

Featured in Pay Utility Bill, City of Bradenton

Bradenton Utility accounts are billed once a month and are due within 20 days of the billing date.

What is the penalty for late payment of utility bills in Bradenton, FL?

Featured in Pay Utility Bill, City of Bradenton

Bradenton Utility payments should be made by the due date printed on the bill to avoid a 10% late fee & to prevent interruption of service.

What are the requirements to get a pet license in Manatee County, Florida?

Featured in Purchase a Pet License, County of Manatee

Rabies Vaccination and Manatee County License Certificate and License Tag are Required. Rabies vaccinations are required by Florida State Statute and by Manatee County Ordinance. The rabies vaccination is the best defense in order to control rabies. Your veterinarian will provide you with a License Certificate and Manatee County License Tag. The Manatee County License Tag is the only recognized tag in Manatee County and is required by Manatee County Ordinance. The Ordinance also requires your pet wear the Manatee County License Tag. 

The following definitions are related to this section of the ordinance to assist with understanding specific meanings:

  • LICENSE CERTIFICATE shall mean a document evidencing registration and vaccination for rabies of a dog, cat, or ferret residing in the County which contains at a minimum the information required by Section 828.30, Florida Statutes (2005).
  • TAG shall mean a current County issued or approved animal license tag.

What other payment methods are available for property tax payments in Manatee County, Florida?

Featured in Pay Property Taxes, County of Manatee

Cash, check, cashier's check, money order, debit card (subject to your bank's daily card limit) or certified funds.  Credit cards cannot be used in the tax collectors offices, only online payments can be paid by credit card. 

Checks submitted in payment of any transaction must be in U.S. Funds and must include: Full Name, Street Address (no PO Box), Home & Work Telephone # with area code, Driver License # and State of issuance. Starter checks are not accepted. Credit of payment is subject to check clearance. If your check is returned, it may be re-presented electronically. By submitting payment by check, you are authorizing service charges and processing fees, as permitted by F.S. 832, to be debited from the same account by paper draft or electronically, at the option of the Tax Collector.

To remit by mail, make your check payable to Ken Burton Jr., Tax Collector and send to:

PO Box 25300 Bradenton, FL 34206-5300 

For Overnight Mail, please use: 819 – 301 Blvd W Bradenton, FL 34205

What happens if i don't pay my Manatee County Property taxes?

Featured in Pay Property Taxes, County of Manatee

Unpaid Manatee County property taxes become delinquent on April 1, at which time interest and additional costs are added to the gross tax.

For Real estate property taxes, the interest rate for delinquent taxes are: 

  • 3% interest for April and May (1.5% per month)
  • $6 advertising

If real estate taxes remain unpaid, Florida statutes require the tax collector to conduct an annual tax certificate sale on or before June 1 for all land on which real estate taxes are delinquent for the previous year.

For Personal property taxes, the interest rate for delinquent taxes are: 

  • 1.5% interest per month
  • $3 advertising
  • $10 collection fee

If personal property taxes remain unpaid, the tax collector is authorized to issue a warrant to levy and seize the property and to sell it at public auction to satisfy the unpaid taxes. 

Is it possible to make a partial payment for property taxes?

Featured in Pay Property Taxes, County of Manatee

Partial payments for property taxes are not accepted in Manatee County. 

Are there any property tax exemptions for veterans in Manatee County, FL?

Featured in Pay Property Taxes, County of Manatee

If you are a disabled veteran or have a service-connected permanent disability, you may qualify for certain exemptions. You will need to contact the Manatee County Property Appraiser's office by phone at (941) 748-8208 to learn more about the eligibility and application process. 

What is minimum tax (or MINTAX) in regards to property taxes?

Featured in Pay Property Taxes, County of Manatee

If the gross tax (i.e., total tax bill amount before discount) is under the $15.00 minimum tax, no taxes are due. In that case, per Manatee County ordinance a tax bill is not mailed.

Can I receive benefits in Florida if I am placed on part-time work?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Benefits, State of Florida

If your employer reduces your hours against your will, you may be eligible for partial benefits. If you are earning less than $275 in gross earnings per week, you can file a claim to determine if you would be eligible to receive partial payments.  

What is Reemployment Assistance?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Benefits, State of Florida

The State of Florida's Unemployment Insurance was rebranded with the name Reemployment Assistance to reflect the comprehensive goal of assisting Floridians find work during periods of unemployment through monetary assistance when eligible and training through Florida’s CareerSource centers.  

How/Where do I file a claim for unemployment benefits in the State of Florida?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Benefits, State of Florida

You can file a claim online via Florida’s CONNECT claims system by clicking the FILE NOW button above.  

If you cannot file a claim online because of legal reasons, computer illiteracy, language barriers, or disabilities you may call 1-800-681-8102. Your claim can be filed by phone 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST, Monday through Friday.  

When do employment benefit claims begin in Florida?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Benefits, State of Florida

 Your claim is effective Sunday of the week you complete your application. By the Florida state law, the first week of a claim for which you would have been eligible for payment is an unpaid week. This week is considered your “waiting week.”  

Who pays for my Reemployment Assistance (RA) benefits?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Benefits, State of Florida

Florida employers pay for RA through a tax managed by the Florida Department of Revenue. It is one of the employer's business costs. Workers do not pay reemployment taxes.  

How are my unemployment benefits calculated in the State of Florida?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Benefits, State of Florida

The wages used to determine your benefit amounts are the first four of the last five calendar quarters.

For example, Claims filed in October 2019 use wages earned between 10/01/2018 through 09/30/2019.

Once the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity has the wages on record, they verify the following to determine if you are eligible for benefits:

  • $3400 minimum gross earnings during base period.
  • You must have a minimum of two quarters of covered wages.
  • Total base period gross wages must be more than 1.5x the highest wage quarter.

Once they complete those checks, the last steps are simple:

  • Weekly Benefit Amount (WBA)
    WBA is the highest quarter divided by 26 OR the weekly amount $275, whichever is less
  • Maximum Benefit Amount (MBA)
    MBA is your total base period wages divided by 4 OR the yearly maximum, whichever is less

What is the maximum amount of unemployment benefits I can receive in the State of Florida?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Benefits, State of Florida

Florida maximum benefits adjust every year based on the previous year’s unemployment rates.

2019 Claim Maximums: 12 weeks                   
Weekly Benefit Amount (WBA): $275            
Maximum Benefit Amount (MBA): $3300    

2020 Claim Maximums: 12 weeks
Weekly Benefit Amount (WBA): $275
Maximum Benefit Amount (MBA): $3300

Please note that these can be adjusted in times of severe events & you will need to check with the DEO if there are any changes. 

Does the State of Florida offer any expedited processing of Unemployment Insurance due to Coronavirus COVID-19?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Benefits, State of Florida

The Florida Department of Economic Opportunity (DEO) announced the waiving of the requirement to wait a week to receive Reemployment Assistance benefits through May 8, 2020. The waiting week has been waived so eligible Floridians may receive the support they need to help recover from the current economic impacts of COVID-19.

Who is eligible to register to vote?

Featured in Register to Vote, State of Florida

To be eligible to register to vote you must:

  • Be a citizen of the United States of America;
  • Be a legal resident of Florida;
  • Be a legal resident of the county in which you seek to be registered;
  • Be at least 16 years old to preregister or at least 18 years old to register and vote;
  • Not be a person who has been adjudicated mentally incapacitated with respect to voting in Florida or any other state without having the right to vote restored; and,
  • Not be a person who has been convicted of a felony without your civil rights having been restored.

What are the symptoms of COVID-19?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Florida

The most common symptoms of COVID-19 are fever, tiredness, and dry cough. Some patients may have aches and pains, nasal congestion, runny nose, sore throat or diarrhea. These symptoms are usually mild and begin gradually. Some people become infected but don’t develop any symptoms and don't feel unwell.

Most people (about 80%) recover from the disease without needing special treatment. Around 1 out of every 6 people who get COVID-19 becomes seriously ill and develops difficulty breathing. Older people, and those with underlying medical problems like high blood pressure, heart problems or diabetes, are more likely to develop serious illness.

People with fever, cough and difficulty breathing should seek medical attention.

Where can I find more information about all the cases in the US?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Florida

You can find a detailed map with the spread of the cases here: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/cases-in-us.html

What should I do if I am sick?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Florida

If you think you have been exposed to COVID-19 and develop a fever and symptoms, such as cough or difficulty breathing, call your healthcare provider for medical advice.

You can read more about what the CDC recommends here: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/about/steps-when-sick.html

Where can I find the list of all Community Health Centers in Florida?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Florida

Florida’s Community Health Centers deliver high-quality, community-based comprehensive health care services to all patients, regardless of their ability to pay. With 600-plus locations statewide, Community Health Centers serve more than 1.6 million patients every year, ensuring that all Floridians receive the health care they need in a way that’s economical for taxpayers.

You can find the list of all Community Health Centers here. Alternatively, you can search for them by your address here: https://www.fachc.org/find-a-health-center#/

Are there any toolkits from the State Department of Health?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of Florida

You can access the list of all official toolkits from Florida State DOH here