Services offered by
State of California

Find services provided by the State agencies for all its residents

Frequently asked questions from City of Diamond Bar

When and why do I need a building permit in Diamond Bar, CA?

Featured in Apply for Building Permit, City of Diamond Bar

If you are planning renovations or new construction in or around your property located in the City of Diamond Bar, chances are you will need to obtain a building permit.

Taking out a permit before commencing your construction project not only keeps you in compliance with City law, but also protects you and your investment - be it a home or a business.

How often do I need to renew business license in Diamond Bar, CA?

Featured in Renew Business License, City of Diamond Bar

Diamond Bar (CA) Business licenses are valid for one year and must be renewed annually. Any person who fails to renew their license on or before the renewal date shall be deemed to be operating without a license, and will be subject to delinquent fees that double each thirty-day period.

Renewal fees are $14 for basic licenses. Additional fees may apply for those applications requiring substantial changes and/or background check.

When are Annual Secured Property taxes due in Los Angeles County (CA)?

Featured in Pay Property Tax Bill, County of Los Angeles

The 1st installment of your LA County Annual Secured Property Tax Bill is due on November 1 and becomes delinquent if payment is not received by December 10. The 2nd installment payment is due February 1, and becomes delinquent and subject to a 10 percent penalty by April 10. 

If December 10 or April 10 falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or Los Angeles County holiday, the delinquency date is moved to the next business day.

Are there any installment plans offered by the Los Angeles County to pay my property taxes?

Featured in Pay Property Tax Bill, County of Los Angeles

The County of Los Angeles offers the following installment plans for property tax payments:

  • Installment Plan for Escaped Assessments (Four-Pay Plan): 

You may be eligible to open an Installment Plan for Escaped Assessments (Four-Pay Plan) and pay your escaped assessment over a four-year period. An “escaped” assessment is a correction to a property’s assessed value that was not added to any prior year Annual Secured Property Tax Bill. These bills are usually the result of a taxable event that “escaped” the Office of the Assessor. Pursuant to California Revenue and Taxation Code Section 4837.5, taxes due for escaped assessments for a prior fiscal year(s) may be paid without penalty over a four-year period provided the additional tax is over $500.00 and provided the Four-Pay Plan is started before the delinquency date of the escaped assessment tax bill.

  • Installment Plan of Redemption (Five-Pay Plan)

You may be eligible to open an Installment Plan of Redemption (Five-Pay Plan) and pay the defaulted taxes over a five-year period for vacant residential lots or nonresidential commercial property that is less than three years in default, and residential or agricultural property that is less than five years in default. This will prevent the property from being sold at a public auction. 

You can find more information about these plans here

What is a Supplemental Tax Bill?

Featured in Pay Property Tax Bill, County of Los Angeles

In addition to annual taxes, you may be responsible for paying supplemental property taxes in Los Angeles County. State law requires the Assessor to reappraise property upon a change in ownership or new construction. The supplemental assessment reflects the difference between the new assessed value and the old or prior assessed value. If the property is reassessed at a higher value than the old assessed value, a supplemental bill will be issued. If the property is reassessed at a lower value than the old assessed value, a refund will be issued.

The taxes are prorated based on the number of months left in the fiscal year from the date of ownership change or the new construction completion date. If the change in ownership or new construction occurs between January 1st and May 31st, two supplemental tax bills will be issued. The first supplemental bill will be for the remainder of the fiscal year, and the second supplemental bill will be for the fiscal year that follows.

Supplemental tax bills are mailed directly to the property owner and are your responsibility. In general, they are not paid out of your impound account. Please check with your lender. 

What is Homeowner's Exemption (HOX)?

Featured in Pay Property Tax Bill, County of Los Angeles

If you own a home and occupy it as your residence on the tax lien date of January 1, you may apply for a Homeowners' Exemption in Los Angeles County. The exemption will reduce your assessed value by $7,000. On an average, you will save between $70.00 and $80.00 on your taxes.

If you are a new owner, you will automatically receive an exemption claim form in the mail. There is no cost to file. To receive 100 percent of the exemption ($7,000), you must file by February 15. If you file after February 15 but before December 10, you will receive 80 percent of the exemption ($5,600).

The exemption can be applied to your change of ownership supplemental if the prior owner of the property (seller) was not receiving the exemption. For more information or to request a claim form, you will need to contact the Assessor's Office at (213) 974-3211 or toll free at (888) 807-2111. You may also email the Assessor at helpdesk@assessor.lacounty.gov

Who should file a fictitious business name?

Featured in Register Fictitious Business Name, County of Los Angeles

Persons doing business for profit under a fictitious name (does not include surname in company name).

Where can I find the list of all guidance documents issued by the California Department of Public Health (CDPH)?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of California

You can find all the guidance documents issued by CDPH here: https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CID/DCDC/Pages/Guidance.aspx

Where can I find daily updates issued by the CDPH?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of California

You can follow the daily updates on COVID-19 issued by CDPH here.

What are the symptoms of COVID-19?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of California

The most common symptoms of COVID-19 are fever, tiredness, and dry cough. Some patients may have aches and pains, nasal congestion, runny nose, sore throat or diarrhea. These symptoms are usually mild and begin gradually. Some people become infected but don’t develop any symptoms and don't feel unwell.

Most people (about 80%) recover from the disease without needing special treatment. Around 1 out of every 6 people who get COVID-19 becomes seriously ill and develops difficulty breathing. Older people, and those with underlying medical problems like high blood pressure, heart problems or diabetes, are more likely to develop serious illness.

People with fever, cough and difficulty breathing should seek medical attention.

Where can I find more information about all the cases in the US?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of California

You can find a detailed map with the spread of the cases here: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/cases-in-us.html

What should I do if I am sick?

Featured in Corona COVID-19 Response, State of California

If you think you have been exposed to COVID-19 and develop a fever and symptoms, such as cough or difficulty breathing, call your healthcare provider for medical advice.

You can read more about what the CDC recommends here: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/about/steps-when-sick.html

What are the eligibility requirements to file Unemployment Insurance Claim in the State of California?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Insurance Claim, State of California

To receive Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefit payments in California, you must meet all eligibility requirements when filing a claim and when certifying for benefits. 

When filing for UI benefits in California, you must have earned enough wages during the base period to establish a claim, and be:

  • Totally or partially unemployed.
  • Unemployed through no fault of your own.
  • Physically able to work.
  • Available for work.
  • Ready and willing to accept work immediately.
  • Actively looking for work.

A base period is a specific 12-month term the EDD uses to see if you earned enough wages to establish a UI claim. 

How much UI claim can I receive in the State of California?

Featured in Apply for Unemployment Insurance Claim, State of California

In the state of California, your weekly UI benefit amount can range from $40 to $450 per week. The California Economic Development Department will verify your eligibility and wage information to determine your weekly benefit amount (WBA).

You can also get an estimate using this UI calculator

Who can register to vote?

Featured in Register to Vote, State of California

To register to vote in California, you must be:

  • A United States citizen and a resident of California
  • 18 years old or older on Election Day
  • Not currently in state or federal prison or on parole for the conviction of a felony
  • Not prohibited from voting by a court because of mental incompetency 

What do I need to register online?

Featured in Register to Vote, State of California

To register online, you will need:

  • Your California driver license or California identification card number,
  • The last four digits of your social security number and
  • Your date of birth.

Your information will be provided to the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to retrieve a copy of your DMV signature.

If you do not have a California driver license or California identification card, you can still use this form to apply to register to vote by completing the online interview by 11:59:59 p.m. Pacific Time on the 15th calendar day before an election.

Will a minor need a REAL ID card to board a domestic flight?

Featured in Apply for Real ID, State of California

TSA does not require children (under 18) to provide identification when traveling with a companion within the United States. The companion will need acceptable identification. For a current list, visit TSA’s website at https://www.tsa.gov/travel/security-screening/identification.

Is REAL ID mandatory?

Featured in Apply for Real ID, State of California

No. The federal compliant REAL ID driver license or ID card is optional.

If you have a valid U.S. passport or U.S. passport card, military ID, or other federally approved identification, you may use this it as your form of identification to board a domestic flight or enter certain federal facilities after the new federal requirements begin October 1, 2020.  

If you know you will not be boarding a domestic flight or visiting a secure federal facility or military base, you do not need a REAL ID driver license or ID card.

You do not need a REAL ID driver license or ID card to do any of the following:

  • Apply for or receive federal benefits (Veterans Affairs, Social Security Administration, etc.)
  • Enter a post office or other federal facility that does not require identification.
  • Visit a hospital or receive life-saving services
  • Ride Amtrak or other public ground transportation

You will need a REAL ID driver license or ID card if you want to continue using your driver license or ID card to do any of the following:

  • Board a domestic flight starting October 1, 2020.
  • Enter secure federal facilities or military bases starting October 1, 2020. (Note: Check with the federal facility/military base before your visit to verify their identification requirements.)
  • Purchase firearms or ammunition. (Note: Check with the firearms dealer you plan to visit to verify their identification requirements)